Olivier Bedard wins Nissan Micra Cup championship

Olivier Bedard wins Nissan Micra Cup championship

September 25, 2018

For the third time in the four-year history of Canada’s Nissan Micra Cup series, Olivier Bedard has taken the championship title at the year’s end.

Bedard claimed the crown in dominant fashion, winning the first race of the Fall Classic weekend at Circuit Mont-Tremblant from pole position to put him in untouchable territory come Sunday’s season finale.

The Montreal-born driver finished the season with 472 points and seven overall victories during the season, adding the 2018 title to his previous championship wins in 2015 and 2017.

Following Bedard in the standings was Kevin King (350), Jake Exton (316) and Valérie Limoges (307).

Limoges and King also rounded out the podium when Bédard took victory in the first race of the weekend.

Third place in the championship standings, Briton Jake Exton, won from pole in the final Micra Cup race of the 2018 season ahead of Jesse Lazare and Bédard.

Normand Boyer won the Senior Class champion title, and Fadi Mourad took rookie of the year honors.

The Nissan Micra Cup series will be back in action for another six-weekend season in the spring of 2019.