Nissan GT-R NISMO GT3s to tackle Suzuka 10 hour

Nissan GT-R NISMO GT3s to tackle Suzuka 10 hour

July 5, 2018

Three Nissan GT-R NISMO GT3 entries will tackle the inaugural Suzuka 10 Hour – the first-ever Japanese round of the Intercontinental GT Challenge.

NISMO partner teams – Super GT GT300 race winners Gainer and Blancpain GT Series Asia front-runners KCMG – will both contest the race with 2018-spec Nissan GT-R NISMO GT3 entries.

Recent Chang International Circuit GT300 winners Hiro Yasuda and Katsuyuki Hiranaka will be joined by Gainer teammate Kazuki Hoshino aboard the single GT-R No.11 entry for Gainer.

KCMG will also field a star-studded line-up aboard its two entries.

The No. 018 will feature last weekend’s Suzuka Blancpain Asia runner-up Alexandre Imperatori alongside Nissan Super GT aces Tsugio Matsuda and Katsumasa Chiyo.

The No. 23 entry will include Edoardo Liberati, British ace Richard Bradley – who scored a Nissan-powered Le Mans LMP2 class victory with KCMG in 2015 – plus one additional driver still to be named.

A total of 13 different GT3 manufacturers will be featured on the grid for the Intercontinental GT Challenge championship round.

The series features other big international GT3 races including the Bathurst 12 Hour, this month’s Spa 24 Hour, and the Laguna Seca 8 Hour in October.

NISMO partner team GT Sport Motul Team RJN will contest this month’s Spa 24 Hour on July 26-29

KCMG this week also announced it would contest the Macau GT World Cup in November with a three-car Nissan GT-R NISMO GT3 entry.

“I am delighted to confirm KCMG’s Macau GT World Cup entry so far ahead of the event,” said Ryuji Doi, head of KCMG Motorsport.

“We are no strangers to Macau having run cars in a variety of categories there before, but our new official NISMO partnership allows us to embark on another really exciting opportunity there.”

2018 won’t be the first time that NISMO has contested Macau’s GT race. The previous generation Nissan GT-R NISMO GT3 did so in 2014 before the event received FIA GT World Cup status, while a Skyline GT-R (R32) Group A specification model driven by Masahiro Hasemi won outright in 1990.